Saturday, July 05, 2008

Reformatting

It's that time. The time where I back up every file I can and reformat the computer. Yes it's been over a year, and slowly but surely my system has been driving me crazy! It's slow, it's quirky and it causes thing to hang forever or just plain crash. This is one of the things I hate most to do because it seems like just when you have everything set up just the way you want it you have to start over. Thanks Microsoft. Thanks Bill!! We really appreciate it! But sadly, soon enough, I'll be having to leave XP behind and move on the the bloated Vista OS that will most certainly look pretty, but cause conflicts and probably piss me off big time! UGH According to Microsoft's XP page:

Free help updating with Windows SP3
Free unlimited installation and compatibility support is available for Windows XP, but only for Windows XP SP3, until April 14, 2009. Chat and e-mail support is available only in the United States and Canada.

So that means no more updates and no more support past then. How nice of them!! They also are still selling this OS for a hefty price just so new owners can lose the support and new updates after April 14th. Tax time. The one time of the year everyone can afford to shell out extra cash right? Well maybe some but certainly not us. UGH!!

So, on to better topics. Yesterday's 4th festivities were pretty casual. We spent the afternoon with the kids over at the in-laws. We got to spend time with extended family and our boys got to go swimming and play with their cousins. It was a good time. Since my feet were killing me (thanks edema) and I was just plain tired (lack of sleep thanks to the good ol' hip and back issues) I pretty much stayed in the house watching TV. I somehow got on A&E and watched a lot of paranormal shows. Interesting and creepy!! Then we headed home at about 5:30.

Since the smoke had cleared out of the valley the kids were anxious to head out and play. So that gave me some peace and quiet for a bit. It wasn't too hot, only mid 80's. Which is nice. That way I can go out and do things. That is, if I felt up to it! By 8:00 PM the kids were tucked into bed and by 9:00 pm so was I!! Nope, we didn't delight in the excitement of fireworks. But I did get woken several times by idiots here in the neighborhood lighting them off all night. I say idiots for several reasons. Mainly they are illegal here in city limits. Not to mention how dry everything is and they could easily start a fire. But I also hate loud sounds. Especially the ones that sound like gun fire. UGH!!

But hey, it's a new day, the smoke is not too bad again and the kids are still sleeping. Hubby went to work and I have the house to myself for the meantime. Wait, cancel that. My 4 year old just got up...darn! :o) Oh well, at least he'll lay on the couch for a bit & watch Noggin. I guess this is my cue to start breakfast soon.

Have a good day! I'll be back with more once the reformat is done...and all my stuff is reloaded...and I'll hopefully get the pics up I have been promising!!

No comments: